How to copy your Managed WordPress staging environment to your live website
A staging environment (sometimes called a test site) is a copy of your live website. You can use this site to test changes or new features in a secure and private environment. We recommend you test significant changes on your staging environment before publishing them on your live website.
This feature is included for free with Managed WordPress.
How to copy your staging environment to your live website
Log in to the xneelo Control Panel.
- Under Products in the side menu, select Managed WordPress.
- Select your Managed WordPress site.
- On the Managed WordPress overview page, select the Staging tab and then click Copy staging to live.
- To copy your staging environment to your live website, a confirmation is required.
- While your website is being updated, a progress bar and helpful hints and tips will be displayed.
- When the process has been completed, you’ll be redirected to the Staging overview page, along with a success notification.
- Preview your live website to ensure everything is working correctly.
You have now successfully copied your staging environment to your live website.
How to reset your staging site
It’s important that your staging environment and live site use the same content and code base for consistency. After making significant changes to your live website, reset your staging environment so it’s ready to test changes later on.
To reset your staging environment, click Reset staging.
You’ll be required to confirm that you’d like to reset your staging environment.
While your staging environment is being reset, a progress bar and helpful hints and tips will be displayed.
- A success notification message will appear when the process is complete.
You have now successfully reset your staging website.
How to delete your staging site
If you no longer need your staging environment, you can delete it. You can also reactivate it at any time from the Backups page.
- To delete your staging environment, click Delete staging.
- You’ll be required to confirm this deletion.
- While your staging environment is being deleted, a progress bar and helpful hints and tips will be displayed.
A success notification message will appear when the process is complete.
You have now successfully deleted your staging website.
What happens next
When your staging environment has been deleted, you will no longer see the ‘Staging’ or ‘Live’ tabs at the top of the overview page.
If you no longer need your staging environment, we recommend deleting it to eliminate accidentally working in the wrong environment.